The Start of Something New (not HSM…Whole30)

I’m so excited to be starting the Whole30 diet tomorrow. This is something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time now, but never got the courage up to doing it. For those who don’t know, I have always had problems with my stomach since I was a little girl, but recently my health has been deteriorating even more. I constantly struggle with nausea and vomiting, and it seems like almost every food makes it worse. With my sinus surgery and constant infections, I’m always tired, my body hurts, and I rarely feel like doing much. This summer I really wanted to take some time off from school, work, etc to rest and get better. But of course I’m a busy bee and ended up going on a lot of vacations and trips and honestly I felt kind of worse. I couldn’t go on a vacation without getting sick, and often I found myself feeling pretty hopeless and depressed. I’m stuck in between trying to constantly do everything myself and beating myself up when it doesn’t work, and feeling like there is nothing I can do. I’m tired of going to doctors, but I’m also tired of feeling this way. This is why I’ve decided to do the Whole30. It gives me something to work hard at, because I know it will be difficult. But I also can’t really beat myself up about it if I follow the rules and it still doesn’t work. Because after all, I’m making a conscious and smart decision to take initiative of my health. I should be proud of that.

After a lot of research and talking with friends who have done it before, I’ve decided that the Whole30 is the best natural way to try and eliminate some of my reoccurring health problems. I hate how medicine makes me feel because I hate just putting more crap into my body. This way, I hopefully will feel better and get to eat some yummy foods on the way! The Whole30 is a 30 day diet that cleanses your body of sugar, alcohol, dairy, legumes, wheat, grains, and of course any junk-food-unnatural-processed-baked goods-type foods. The point of this journey is not for me to lose weight, but to eliminate any foods that may be having a negative impact on me– disrupting my blood sugar, hurting my digestive tract, stripping me of my energy, etc. For example, fried food makes me throw up. Sometimes pasta makes me feel really bogged down. Really cheesy stuff and ice cream sometimes makes my stomach churn.

 I’ll also be exercising (with God’s help haha) and just trying to keep a positive mindset about my body. It’s super easy for me to get down on myself and feel insecure about how my body looks. My weight fluctuates a lot, so I’m always fitting into different sizes. I know though that this is just how my body has been working with my stomach problems and changing diets, so I can’t take blame for something that is often out of my control. Many times I truly hate my body, not for how it looks but for how it works. When I try to eat healthier, but still end up throwing up all night, I blame myself, I curse my body, and I spiral into a rut. NO more of that! These 30 days I’m going to:

  1. try my best to take things one meal at a time
  2. love my body for the things it can do and the little victories it has
  3. try my best to follow every rule, but not beat myself up if I slip once
  4. enjoy the food I eat instead of worrying that it will make me sick 
  5. not worry about my weight or the fat on my stomach, but about how I feel

I have to admit, I’m pretty nervous about this next month! Change scares me, especially when I’m taking a leap of faith. But I am hopeful that the Whole30 will energize me and refresh me for the coming school year. It will be hard to resist that ice cream when I’m stressed out studying late at night. I will have to say no to those Sonic runs with my friends. I’ll have to work hard to find things I can eat out at restaurants. I can’t have a glass of wine while watching Bachelor in Paradise or a margarita with my friends to celebrate coming back to school. BUT ultimately this is so worth skipping out on those guilty pleasures.

I’ll be posting about my difficult but exciting journey on social media and my blog, so stay posted! Bye ice cream and pasta, helloooo fruits and veggies!
Isaiah 43:19 – “See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland”

Leave a Reply

